John W. Doull, Bookseller, Inc.

Quick Search

Author/Illustrator
Title
Words appearing in our descriptions
Keyword(s)
 
 
 
 
   
Author Name:    ANSON, George). PACK, S.W.C. PACK, S.W.C.

Title:   Admiral Lord Anson : The story of Anson's voyage and naval events of his day. 1st UK in dj

Publisher:    Cassell, 1960, 

Seller ID:   19912

(ANSON, George). PACK, Captain S.W.C. Admiral Lord Anson : The story of Anson's voyage and naval events of his day. London: Cassell, (1960). First Printing. Pp. (6),vii-xvii,(1),1-[262], portrait frontispiece, + 16 p. of black and white plates. Illustrated. 8vo, blue cloth with gilt lettering to spine. NMM II:249. Admiral George Anson (b. April 23, 1697, Staffordshire - d.June 6, 1762, Moor Park, Hertfordshire). "The career of Admiral Lord Anson heralded the most glorious epoch in the history of the Royal Navy. He was the first of the great eighteenth century admirals, preceding Rodney, Howe,St. Vincent and finally Nelson, whose mighty victory at Trafalgar set the seal on a process which was based not only on those qualities of seamanship, command and heroism which they all, without exception, possessed, but equally important, on the reorganization of the navy itself. [...] Anson was asailor in the tradition of Drake and Hawkins and his early life reads like the saga of a successful buccaneer. When in 1740 he was sent to harry the Spanish American possessions, he achieved not only this specific objective,but came home, after an epic voyage of circumnavigation involving terrible losses and setbakcs surmounted through leadership and resolve, with the ri chest prize cargo in history. [...] Later he was appointed to the Admiralty, where he served, with only a short break, from 1745 until his death in 1762, eventually becoming First Lord. In this capacity he introduced many reforms, salvaging the Navy from its moribund state and earning for himself the title 'Father of the Navy'." - from the dustjacket. Contents: Background on Anson's Time; Anson's Early Life; War with Spain; Scurvy and Storm take their Toll; Events at Juan Fernandez, and the End of the Tryal; More Prizes, and the Burning of Paita; From Paita to Quibo, and the Search for the Galleon; Petition by the Officers of the Tryal; The End of the Gloucester; Marooned Ashore at Tinian; Further Search for the Galleon; War with France; Anson at Admiralty; The Engagement in the Law Courts; Anson's Victory off Finisterre; The navy Once More Paramount; An Uneasy Peace; The Loss of Minorca; The Struggle for Command of the Sea; The Eclipse of France's Naval Power;Saunders at Quebec; Years of Glory. With index. Very good in nicked, uncli pped dustjacket. 35.00


Price = 35.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart

Back to Search Results


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@doullbooks.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie