John W. Doull, Bookseller, Inc.

Quick Search

Words appearing in our descriptions

NOWLAN, Alden). COOK, Gregory M. COOK, Gregory M. Listings

If you cannot find what you want on this page, then please use our search feature to search all our listings.

Click on Title to view full description

1 NOWLAN, Alden). COOK, Gregory M. COOK, Gregory M. One Heart, One Way : Alden Nowlan: A Writer's Life. First Edition
Pottersfield Press, Lawrencetown Beach, 2003, ISBN:189590059x 189590059X / 9781895900590 
(NOWLAN, Alden). COOK, Gregory M. One Heart, One Way : Alden Nowlan: A Writer's Life. With a Preface by Robert Bly. Lawrencetown Beach, Nova Scotias, Canada : Pottersfield Press, (2003). First Edition. Pp. (10),11-367,(1). 8vo, illustrated card covers with red spine.

"Born near Windsor, Nova Scotia, Alden Nowlan was a poet, journalist and novelist who overcame the apparent disadvantages of poverty, and a mere four grades of formal education, to publish 25 books and three plays." - from the rear cover.

Preface: "The Nourishing Voice of Alden Nowlan" by Robert Bly;
Introduction: Something Rare and Beautiful.

Part I.
1932-35 The Village. "A Crazy Quilt" of Comfort in the "Rugged Times";
1936-40 House Divided: The Idyll and the World Beyond;
1940-45 A Lonely "Pilgrimage through hell";
1945-47 Decline;
1947-48 "Floating in a lake of time";
1949 Magic.
1950-51 "Village Radical".

Part II. The Small Town.
1952-54 The Centre of the Universe;
1955 Silhouette in a Frosted Window;
1956 That Strange Man, Ezekiel Orders Fries;
1957 Seizing the Prizes; 1958-59 "Dare to he different"; 1960-61 The Things I Know As I Feel them;
1962 "My... assimilative capacities are at their zenith".

Part III. The City.
1963 Breaking Out;
1963-64 "A bit of the hourgeois";
1965-66 "At a crossroads";
1967 Secret Lives;
1968 Reality Check.

Part IV. The Capital.
1968-69 "An act of faith";
1970 Pretending Nothing Has Happened;
1971-72 Working Hard;
1973 "Letters to people that I love, and to strangers";
1974 Overcoming the Fear of Ghosts;
1975 "The ultimate piece of name-dropping"
1976 "Nothing short of uncanny";
1977-78 Lonely at the Top;
1979 "Being in your right mind";
1980 Wagon of Fate;
1981 Autobiography, "The Wine of Astonishment";
1982 So Bloody Marvelous;
1983 "I'm tired".

With endnotes and bibliography.

Bly begins his preface,"Alden Nowlan is the greatest Canadian poet of the twentieth centure, [...]".

Very good. 15.00

Price: 15.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart
2 COOK, Gregory M. (ed.). ACORN, Milton PURDY, Al NOWLAN, Alden Scroll. Wombat Literary Series No.1. Limited Edition
Wombat Press, Wolfville, N.S., 1980, ISBN:0969082819 
COOK, Gregory M. (ed.). Scroll. Wombat Literary Series No.1. Wolfville, N.S.: Wombat Press. 1980. Pp (52) loose sheets, mostly printed one side only. 4to, unbound sheets gathered in an illustrated green folder. A beautiful portfolio of 50 poems, each one hand-set and hand-printed on deckle-edged linen-finished paper by Bob Dawson, at the Dawson Room, Dalhousie University,Halifax, Nova Scotia. The poems, some written especially for this occasion , are dedicated to Dr. Fred Cogswell, publisher of Fiddlehead Poetry books.They commemorate the contribution Dr. Cogswell has made to Canadian letter s, especially in launching new poets. The collection includes writers published by Fiddlehead: John Robert Colombo, Dorothy Livesay, Marilyn Bowering,Elizabeth Jones. George Woodcock, Terry Crawford, Milton Acorn, Fraser Sut herland, Robert Gibbs, et al. Also Al Purdy, Alden Nowlan, David Solway, Joy Kogawa, Norman Levine, Peter Van Toorn, and Christopher Wiseman. Limitedto 200 numbered copies, this being no. 115. Very good in slightly edge-bro wned folder. 150.00

Price: 150.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by