John W. Doull, Bookseller, Inc.

Quick Search

Author/Illustrator
Title
Words appearing in our descriptions
Keyword(s)
 
 
 
 

CHANDLER, Raymond) HASFORD, Gustav, Association Copy) BRUCCOLI, Matthew J., Ed. BARZUN, Jacques, Foreword Listings

If you cannot find what you want on this page, then please use our search feature to search all our listings.

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 CHANDLER, Raymond) HASFORD, Gustav, association copy) BRUCCOLI, Matthew J., ed. BARZUN, Jacques, foreword Chandler Before Marlowe : Raymond Chandler's Early Prose and Poetry, 1908-1912. 2nd pr in dj. ex-libris Gustav Hasford
University of South Carolina Press, Columbia, SC, 1973, ISBN:0872493059 
(CHANDLER, Raymond). Chandler Before Marlowe : Raymond Chandler's Early Prose and Poetry, 1908-1912. Edited by Matthew J. Bruccoli. Foreword by Jacques Barzun. Columbia, SC: University of South Carolina Press, (1973). Second Printing. Pp. (5),vi-xvii,(1),[1]-109,(1). 8vo, red cloth with gilt lettering to spine. Includes the following poems: "The Unknown Love", "The Poet's Knowledge", "The Soul's Defiance", "The Wheel", "Art", "A Woman's Way", "The Quest", 'When I Was King", "The Hour of Chaos", "The Bed of Roses", "The Reformer", "The Perfect Knight", "A Pilgrim in Meditation", "The Pioneer", "The Hermit", "The Dancer", "The Death of the King", "The Clay God", "A Lament for Youth", "The Unseen Planets", "The Tears that Sweeten Woe", "The Fairy King", "Arise, ye phantoms of delight...", "An Old House", "The King", "Time Shall Not Die", and "Organ Music", as well as two sonnets and a requiem from his post-Marlowe period (1955-58); and the following essays: "The Genteel Artist", "The Remarkable Hero", "The Literary Fop", "Realism and Fairyland", "The Tropical Romance", "Houses to Let", "The Phrasemaker", and "The Rose-Leaf Romance"; as well as four book reviews. Ex-libris Gustav Hasford (1947-1993), author of the novel "The Short-Timers" (1977), which was put to film by Stanley Kubrick as "Full Metal Jacket" (the screenplay, to which Hasford was partially accredited, was nominated for the 1987 Academy Award). Hasford was also a friend and associate of science fiction authors Harlan Ellison, Frederik Pohl, Arthur Byron Cover, among others. With his "Reference Library of Gustav Hasford" and "Detective" stickers to ffep. (No indication of this book having been among the several thousand stolen from American libraries by Hasford in the mid-to-late-1980s). Remainder mark to bottom edge, else very good in dust jacket. 35.00

Price: 35.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 LAMBERT, Gavin. HITCHCOCK, Alfred). GREENE, Graham). CHANDLER, Raymond). Dangerous Edge. First Edition in dustjacket.
Barrie & Jenkins, London, 1975, ISBN:0214200760 
LAMBERT, Gavin. The Dangerous Edge. (London) : Barrie & Jenkins, (1975). First Printing. Pp. (8),ix-xv,(1),1-[272]. 8vo, black cloth with gilt lettering to spine. "For readers and movie audiences, criminal life has traditionally provided a means of escape into violent adventure, hairbreadth escape and last-minute surprise. This is true of the formula whodunit or thriller, but the novels and stories of Wilkie Collins, Conan Doyle, Graham Greene, Eric Ambler, Simenon, Raymond Chandler and a few others, and the films of Hitchcock, have often been acutely and disturbingly prophetic of the way we live now. The real escapism lies in ignoring what they have to tell us. Overthe last hundred years, the development of what Greene once called 'the ne w imaginative form' has supplied both a remarkably detailed guidebook to criminal activity in Europe and America, and a rich insight into the criminalpsyche. Years ago the so-called 'motiveless murder' was thoroughly explore d by Simenon. In the spectacular corruptions of southern California life, Raymond Chandler found a forecast of the pre-Watergate society, and in the 1930s Greene and Ambler were already pointing to the atmosphere of violence created by governments committed to the armaments race. 'How thin is the protection of civilization', John Buchan once wrote -- and since the time, with the hijacked plane, the terrorist at the airport and in the department store, the kidnapping in the busy street, it has grown even thinner. In touching off some of our deepest fears, the major 'crime-artists' also reveal their own. How the Dangerous Edge, that point of no return reached by the murderer, the outlaw and the spy, often seems to reflect their secret personalities is the parallel theme of this book." - from the dustjacket. Contents: 1. Enemy Country: Wilkie Collins; 2. Final Problems: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and G.K. Chesterton; 3. The Thin Protection: John Buchan and Eric Ambler; 4. The Double Agent: Graham Greene; 5. Night Vision: Georges Simenon; 6. A Private Eye: Raymond Chandler; 7. The Benefits of Shock: Alfred Hitchcock. With bibliography. Very good in unclipped dustjacket. 30.00

Price: 30.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 CHANDLER, Raymond. PARKER, Robert B. Poodle Springs. US in dj. signed by Parker
1989, 
(PARKER, Robert B.). CHANDLER, Raymond and Robert B. PARKER. Poodle Springs. N.Y.: (1989). Vg in dj. Signed by Parker. 45.00

Price: 45.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
4 STERANKO CHANDLER, Raymond PREISS, Byron (ed.) Red Tide : A Chandler Novel
Pyramid Publications, New York, 1976, 
STERANKO. Red Tide : A Chandler Novel. Fiction Illustrated Volume Three. Edited by Byron Preiss. New York : Pyramid Publications, (1976). First Edition. Pp (6),7-127,(1). Colour Illustrated. Double Column. Small 8vo, ilustrated blue card covers, lettered in yellow, green, pink and white. Introduction by Joe Gores. A hard-boiled detective thriller by Steranko in the tradition of Chinatown and Maltese Falcon. Tiny nick to spine ends, lightly rubbed, else very good. 30.00

Price: 30.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 CHANDLER, Raymond Red Wind: A Collection of Short Stories. Tower Books edition 1st pr in dj
The World Publishing Company, 1946, 
CHANDLER, Raymond. Red Wind: A Collection of Short Stories. Cleveland: The World Publishing Company, (March 1946). Tower Books Edition. First Printing. Pp. 253. 8vo, black cloth. Some dampstaining to top of front board, half inch missing from front of chipped dj, else vg. 30.00

Price: 30.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to [email protected]
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie