John W. Doull, Bookseller, Inc.

Quick Search

Author/Illustrator
Title
Words appearing in our descriptions
Keyword(s)
 
 
 
 
   
Author Name:    GIBSON, George

Title:   Rat in the Fo'c'sle. 1st UK in dj

Publisher:    Nautical, 1975, ISBN:0245526927 

Seller ID:   30593

GIBSON, George. Rat in the Fo'c'sle. (Lymington, Hampshire) : Nautical, (1975). First Edition. Pp 222. 8vo, pebbled maroon cloth. "Rats and cockroaches were no surprise to John Ransome when he signed on aboard Greystone, an old and rusty tramp steamer, for he knew the tough life of the seaman's fo'c'sle was preferable to the miseries of the dole, the means test, and a nagging wife at home [...] The compelling force of the author's description of storm and fire at sea and his convincing portrayal of life on board are in the tradition of Conrad and Forester, and he brings to Rat in the Fo'c'sle the authentic stamp of his own experience of conditions ashore and afloat during the great economic depression." - from the dj. Vg in lightly rubbed, unclipped dj. 50.00


Price = 50.00 CDN
Add to Shopping Cart


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to [email protected]
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie