Rat in the Fo'c'sle. 1st UK in dj

By: GIBSON, George

Price: $50.00

Quantity: 1 available


GIBSON, George. Rat in the Fo'c'sle. (Lymington, Hampshire) : Nautical, (1975). First Edition. Pp 222. 8vo, pebbled maroon cloth. "Rats and cockroaches were no surprise to John Ransome when he signed on aboard Greystone, an old and rusty tramp steamer, for he knew the tough life of the seaman's fo'c'sle was preferable to the miseries of the dole, the means test, and a nagging wife at home [...] The compelling force of the author's description of storm and fire at sea and his convincing portrayal of life on board are in the tradition of Conrad and Forester, and he brings to Rat in the Fo'c'sle the authentic stamp of his own experience of conditions ashore and afloat during the great economic depression." - from the dj. Vg in lightly rubbed, unclipped dj. 50.00

Title: Rat in the Fo'c'sle. 1st UK in dj

Author Name: GIBSON, George

Categories: 78,

Publisher: Nautical, 1975, ISBN:0245526927:

Seller ID: 30593

Keywords: NAUTICAL FICTION TRAMPS MERCANTILE DEPRESSION UNITED KINGDOM MERCHANT STEAM,