Author:GUNNARS, Kristjana

Sort

Showing 1-10 of 10

Carnival of Longing. First Edition, paperback.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana

Price: $12.50

Publisher: Turnstone Press, Winnipeg, 1989, ISBN:0888011393:

Seller ID: 108523


GUNNARS, Kristjana. Carnival of Longing. (Winnipeg): Turnstone Press, (1989). First Paperback Printing. Pp. (12),3-85,(1). 8vo, illustrated blue card covers with dark blue lettering to front cover, white lettering to spine. "The silence of a lover's absense is delicately shaped and uffused with the breath of new and poignant life in these poems and prose poems by KristjanaGunnars. She laments the inadequacy of words to interpret passion and long ing, yet, with an exquisite sense of paradox, does so in language remarkable for its poise and elegance. With porcelain care Gunnars creates trans... View more info

Axe's Edge : Fiction. First Edition.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Press Porcépic, Toronto, 1983, ISBN:0888782101:

Seller ID: 15862


GUNNARS, Kristjana. The Axe's Edge : Fiction by Kristjana Gunnars. Toronto/Victoria : Press Porcépic, (1983). First Printing. Pp. (8),1-93,(3). 8vo, white and blue card covers with black titles to front and spine. "This colection of ten stories by the gifted poet Kristjana Gunnars is the result of five years of archival research and the author's personal exploration of herown Icelandic heritage." - from the rear cover. Includes the following sto ries: "Bells", "Roundup", "Bloodletter", "Mice", "Guest", "Crossroads", "Grasses", &#... View more info

Prowler : A novel. First Paperback Edition

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Red Deer College Press, Red Deer, AB, 1989, ISBN:0889950423:

Seller ID: 101101


GUNNARS, Kristjana. The Prowler : A novel. (Red Deer): Red Deer College Press, (1989). First Paperback Printing. Pp. (112). Unpaginated. 8vo, grey card covers in illustrated white-spined jacket. "It is at the end of World WarII on the remote northern island of Iceland that we first meet the prowler -- the clever, withdrawn girl living on an enchanting yet disturbing house of cards. The cards are the memories of growing up in a time when Icelandi c children didn't speak. When Icelandic girls were suspected of being American soldier-whores. The deck is shuffled again and again as the scenes ... View more info

Substance of Forgetting. First Edition in dustjacket.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana

Price: $18.00

Publisher: Red Deer College Press, Red Deer, AB, 1992, ISBN:0889950857:

Seller ID: 101099


GUNNARS, Kristjana. The Substance of Forgetting. (Red Deer): Red Deer College Press, (1992). First Printing. Pp. (10),11-125,(3). 8vo, cream cloth with gilt titles to spine. A short novel by the Icelandic-born Canadian author. "In the tradition of Anais Nin and Marguerite Duras, award-winning novelist Kristjana Gunnars explores the romance between East and West, French andEnglish, urban and rural, language and landscape. It is a romance that eme rges in spite of itself, a romance that forgets, by degrees, the official love story and journeys instead into the heart of the unknown. 'The Subs... View more info

One-Eyed Moon Maps. First Paperback Edition.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana

Price: $25.00

Publisher: Press Porcepic, Victoria and Toronto, 1980, ISBN:0888781784:

Seller ID: 105466


GUNNARS, Kristjana. One-Eyed Moon Maps. Victoria and Toronto: Press Porcepic, (1980). First Printing. Pp. (9),10-73,(7). 8vo, illustrated black and grey card covers with white lettering to front cover, black lettering to white spine. The first collection of poems by the Icelandic-born Canadian author. "In 'One-Eyed Moon Maps' [Gunnars] has created a tour de force -- a cycle of 30 poems, shaped by ancient Norse myth, the mystery of runes, and the magic of modern technology. 'One-Eyed Moon Maps' is the remarkable debut ofa new and original voice in Canadian poetry, as well as an important ad... View more info

water, waiting. Limited Edition.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana

Price: $20.00

Publisher: Underwhich Editions, Toronto, 1987, ISBN:0886580501:

Seller ID: 56474


GUNNARS, Kristjana. water, waiting. (Toronto): Underwhich Editions, 1987. Pp. (8). Unpaginated. Small 8vo, illustrated string-bound blue and grey cardcovers with blue lettering to front cover. A short poem. This edition limi ted to 150 numbered copies, this being no. 57. A very good copy. Due to itssmall size, shipping costs should be cheaper than quoted. 20.00 View more info

Unexpected Fictions : New Icelandic Canadian Writing.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana (ed.). GUNNARS, Kristjana VALGARDSON, W.D. WYLIE, Betty Jane

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Turnstone Press, Winnipeg, 1989, ISBN:088801144X:

Seller ID: 93576


GUNNARS, Kristjana (ed.). Unexpected Fictions : New Icelandic Canadian Writing. (Winnipeg) : Turnstone Press, (1989). Pp [i]-xx,[1]-98,(10). 8vo, illustrated blue and white card covers. “A young man secretly acquires all the knowledge he can – A lake-faring ghost haunts only the disbelieving - An inquisitive girl discovers hidden paintings that kindle her sexuality - Unread lines from Shakespeare hold the key to a couple's happiness. These are some of the Unexpected Fictions you'll find in this wide-ranging, contemporary collection. Nine of the best Icelandic Canadian writers [ David Arnas... View more info

Settlement Poems 2. First Paperback Edition, signed.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana.

Price: $18.00

Publisher: Turnstone, Winnipeg, 1980, ISBN:0888010516:

Seller ID: 105469


GUNNARS, Kristjana. Settlement Poems 2. Winnipeg: Turnstone Press, 1980. First Printing. Pp. (8),9-49,(7). 8vo, illustrated blue card covers with reddish-brown lettering to front cover and spine. Very good. Signed without inscription by Gunnars on the half-title page. Due to its small size, shippingcosts should be cheaper than quoted. 18.00 View more info

Settlement Poems 1. First Paperback Edition, signed.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana.

Price: $18.00

Publisher: Turnstone, Winnipeg, 1980, ISBN:088801032x:

Seller ID: 105468


GUNNARS, Kristjana. Settlement Poems 1. Winnipeg: Turnstone Press, 1980. First Printing. Pp. (8),7-55,(7). 8vo, illustrated blue card covers with brown lettering to front cover and spine. Light rubbing to covers, else very good. Signed without inscription by Gunnars on the half-title page. Due to its small size, shipping costs should be cheaper than quoted. 18.00 View more info

Wake-Pick Poems. First Paperback Edition.

By: GUNNARS, Kristjana. Anansi House of Poetry 40.

Price: $15.00

Publisher: Anansi, Toronto, 1981, ISBN:0887840892:

Seller ID: 105467


GUNNARS, Kristjana. Wake-Pick Poems. Toronto: Anansi, (1981). First Printing. Pp. (6),7-96. 8vo, illustrated red card covers with cream lettering to front cover and spine. Anansi House of Poetry HAP40. ""'Wake-Pick': A devicemade from a small stick of wood with a slit on one side to catch the eyeli d. It was used in old Iceland to keep the eyelids open when people had to stay up nights turning out the quota of knitting required to survive. 'Wake-Pick Poems': A powerful collection by a young Canadian poet who draws intenseively on the colourful world of her Icelandic heritage. 'Wake-Pic... View more info